| | english | español | français |
  Home|Synthetic Biology|Open-Ended Forum|Current Activities   Printer-friendly version

Current Activities of the Online Forum on Synthetic Biology

Return to the list of threads...
Forum closed. No more comments will be accepted on this forum.
Closing Comment Topic 2 [#8713]
Dear colleagues,

This is my first contribution to this AHTEG.  I was a member of the 2015 AHTEG, a representative, then and now, of the Canadian Friends (Quakers), who have had a sustained interest in biotechnology, particularly in its social justice, ecological and spiritual dimensions.

I am a retired physician, trained in epidemiology, whose career focused on tobacco addiction at clinical and population levels.  Decision-making under uncertainty has interested me for a long time.

Thank you to Ms. María Andrea Orjuela Restrepo, for taking on the daunting task of moderating this discussion.  And my appreciation to the contributors for the many articulate, informing, and passionate contributions they have made.

I had not expected to write anything for Topic 2, since my framing of risk strays beyond published evidence.  However, the broad discussion leads me to agree with Deborah Scott (#8698) and to also recommend to Ms Orjuela Restrepo that she include in her summary the substance and flavour of the contributions that addressed risks and benefits of LMOs without offering published evidence. 

I agree with Ms. Scott (#8698) about the value of the 2012 Nuffield report Emerging Biotechnologies.